July 9th, 2008

smiling Chris 2007

Yes, I'm alive - and happy!

Sorry for the utter lack of blogging!

The SF Writers Workshop has been wonderful and all-consuming, and right now we're in the throes of final preparation for the Campbell Conference coming up this weekend (starts Friday; details-update later today). Though it absolutely devours all my time, I love this summer science-fiction program: The people, the ideas, the work; listening to Jim Gunn share his wisdom; seeing old friends and meeting new ones; the whole shebang. A few days ago, on my way out the door after too little sleep, I found myself smiling and said aloud, "I love this!"

Also, I just got some great news from ericreynolds about two of my stories garnering honorable mentions in Gardner Dozois' The Year's Best Science Fiction of 2007: "Jupiter Whispers," from Visual Journeys; and "The Empty Utopia," from Ruins: Extraterrestrial.

Hooooray! This makes me so happy.

Okay, now I'm back to work. See you in... um, later this month! *g*


Campbell Conference this weekend! Awards news!

Don't forget that the Campbell Conference starts this Friday. Even if you don't wish to attend everything, don't forget the free events like the Oread Book Store readings and giant SF book sale.

And some news (begin official press release tone, ahem):

LAWRENCE, KS - July 9, 2008

The Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas has announced the winners of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of 2007 and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short science fiction of 2007.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, July 11, in conjunction with the center’s annual Campbell Conference and the annual meeting of the Science Fiction Research Association, which is taking place July 10-13 in Lawrence. This year the Campbell Conference offers “Teaching Science Fiction: A Portable Workshop.”

The Campbell Award will be presented to Kathleen Ann Goonan for In War Times. Second place goes to Michael Chabon’s Nebula Award-winning The Yiddish Policeman's Union, and third to Ken MacLeod for The Execution Channel.

For the first time, there are two winners of the Sturgeon Award: “Finistera,” by David R. Moles, and “Tidelines,” by Elizabeth Bear. Interestingly, second place for the Sturgeon Award was also a tie: Gene Wolfe’s “Memorare,” and Ian R. MacLeod’s “The Master Miller's Tale.”

The Campbell award is one of the three major annual awards for science fiction. The award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine (now called Analog). Many writers and scholars call Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, the father of modern science fiction.

The Sturgeon award was established in 1987 by James Gunn, professor emeritus of English and director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction, and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon as a memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

The Science Fiction Research Association is the oldest professional organization for the study of science fiction and fantasy literature and film. This year’s conference is titled “Creating, Reading and Teaching Science Fiction.” Notable guest speakers include Karen Joy Fowler, author of “The Jane Austen Book Club”; Paul Kincaid, author of “What We Do When We Read Science Fiction”; and Joan Slonczewski, a professor at Kenyon College who uses science fiction to help teach biology. Breakout sessions explore varied topics such as “Reimagining the Future of the Past in Science Fiction Film and Television”; “Aliens, Animals and Environmentalism in Science Fiction”; and “Playing the Universe: Reading and Teaching Science Fiction With Video Games.”