July 10th, 2010


2010 Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners Announced

Hi folks -

Because James Morrow wished to announce the win early at Readercon, we've announced the winners of the Sturgeon and Campbell awards early, too! Here's the official announcement:

LAWRENCE, KS - July 9, 2010:

A dystopian novel about a near-future of energy shortages and bioengineering, and a long satirical story that mixes the beginning of nuclear destruction with the tradition of the Japanese monster films have won the 2010 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards to be presented at the University of Kansas on Friday, July 16, as part of the Center’s annual Campbell Conference.

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi has won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of the year. Bacigalupi is no stranger to the awards, his story “The Calorie Man” having won the Sturgeon Award for the best SF short of the year in 2006. The Windup Girl, like “The Calorie Man,” is set in a world in which energy shortages have forced a return to mechanical work translated into springs, and genetic manipulation has produced gigantic beasts of labor as well as invisible cats and artificial humans. The Windup Girl has the additional distinctions of having won the Nebula Award and the Compton Crook Award and being nominated for the Hugo Award (winner yet to be announced), and being Bacigalupi’s first novel.

Shambling Towards Hiroshima” by James Morrow has won the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best SF short story of the year. The story is a satire about a plan to end World War II with the production of gigantic iguanas who breathe fire and the production of a film that features an actor as a Godzilla-like monster in a rubber suit pretending to destroy a miniature Japan in an effort to persuade the Japanese to surrender. “Shambling Towards Hiroshima” was written by a master satirist who describes himself as a “scientific humanist.” His best-known novels are his “Godhead” trilogy composed of Towing Jehovah (1994; Blameless in Abaddon (1996); and The Eternal Footman (1999). His most recent novels are The Last Witchfinder (2006) and The Philosopher’s Apprentice (2008). Morrow’s “Bible Stories for Adults, No. 17: The Deluge” won the Nebula Award for 1988 and his “City of Truth,” for 1991.

Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America by Robert Charles Wilson was chosen second by the seven-person jury in the Campbell novel competition. The City & the City by China Miéville was chosen in third place. In the Sturgeon short-story competition, there was a three-way tie for second and third places voted by the five-person jury: “Things Undone” by John Barnes, “This Blowing Wind” by Damien Broderick, and “As Women Fight” by Sara Genge.

Both Bacigalupi and Morrow will attend the Awards dinner. They pair a short-story writer who has won the novel award for his first novel, and a veteran novelist who won the short-story award. Both will participate in the Campbell Conference on July 17-18, and the autographing session and the featured readings of Theodore Sturgeon’s short stories in Oread Books on July 17.

Click here to see the finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award.

Click here to see the finalists for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award.