Chris McKitterick (mckitterick) wrote,
Chris McKitterick

NEWS: Campbell Award
winners announced

Sturgeon Award
winners announced

Hope to see you at the event! Full press release:


Lawrence, KS — June 30, 2009

Two Canadians and a Briton have won the 2009 John W. Campbell Award for the best science fiction novel of the year and the 2009 Theodore Sturgeon Award for the best short science fiction of the year, James Gunn, Director of the University of Kansas Center for the Study of Science Fiction, announced today.

The Campbell award is shared by Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother (Tor Books) and Ian MacLeod’s Song of Time (PS Publishing). Third place goes to James Morrow's The Philosopher's Apprentice (William Morrow).

James Alan Gardner’s “The Ray Gun: A Love Story” won the Sturgeon Award. Second place goes to Kathleen Ann Goonan's "Memory Dog" (Asimov's), and third place goes to Ian McDonald's "The Tear" (Empire).

The authors will accept their awards at the University of Kansas during an Awards dinner on July 10 and will be featured at the annual Campbell Conference on Saturday, July 11, and Sunday morning, July 12.

The Campbell Conference will discuss “What’s Old, What’s New: The New Space Opera, the New Hard SF, the New Weird.” In the afternoon session, the three winners will open a discussion on what’s new in publishing and its affect on writing and reading. Doctorow is a major author on the new digital and internet publishing, and believes that copyright laws should be liberalized to allow free sharing of all digital media.

This is only the third time in the history of the Campbell Award that the balloting of the jurors has resulted in a tie: in 1974 between Arthur C. Clarke’s Rendezvous with Rama and Robert Merle’s Malevil and in 2002 between Jack Williamson’s Terraforming Earth and Robert Charles Wilson’s The Chronoliths.

Doctorow and Gardner are Canadians. Doctorow currently is living in London. MacLeod is a Britain. Doctorow writes a column about digital publishing for Locus Magazine. Some of his essays have been published by Tachyon Publishing as Content: Selected Essays on Technology, Creativity, Copyright, and the Future of the Future. Ian R. MacLeod studied law and worked as a public servant before publishing his first novel, The Great Wheel (which won the Locus first novel award), in 1997. His novella “The Summer Isles” won the Sidewise Award for alternate history and again as a novel.

Gardner turned to writing after earning bachelor and master’s degrees in applied mathematics from the University of Waterloo. His story “Children of the Creche” won the Writers of the Future grand prize in 1989. He has published seven novels. He also is an educator and technical writer, whose Leaving Unix is used as a text in some universities.


  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.